I'd go hungry i'd go black and blue to make you feel my love


Lent (Latin: Quadragesima, "fortieth") is the Christian observance of the liturgical year from Ash Wednesday to Easter Sunday.

The traditional purpose of Lent is the penitential preparation of the believer—through prayer, penance, repentance, almsgiving, and self-denial. Its institutional purpose is heightened in the annual commemoration of Holy Week, marking the Death and Resurrection of Jesus, which recalls the events of the Passion of Christ on Good Friday, which then culminates in the celebration on Easter Sunday of the Resurrection of Jesus Christ.

During Lent, many of the faithful commit to fasting or giving up certain types of luxury as a form of penitence. The Stations of the Cross, a devotional commemoration of Christ's carrying the Cross and of His execution, are often observed. Many Roman Catholic and some Protestant churches bare their altars of candles, flowers, and other devotional offerings, while Crucifixes, religious statues, and other elaborate religious paraphernalia are often veiled in violet fabrics in observance of this event. In certain pious Catholic countries, grand processions and cultural customs are observed, and the faithful attempt to visit seven churches during Holy Week in honor of Jesus Christ heading to Mount Calvary.

I think this is a beutiful tradition. I told my friend i made a promise to myself to blog once a day and she asked me if it was for lent. I'd never heard about it or celibrated lent, but im taking this on me now, to sacrifice something or make a speacial promise. So today I'll make my promise, to blog every day and I'll write some porstcards to my loved ones. That'll be my rent promise, perhaps not very compassionate but as my first lent promise it will have to due.


Kommentarer
Postat av: Neesha

BABY MYLES!!!! awwwww

2012-02-23 @ 19:54:44
URL: http://bumbum257.blogspot.com

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0